Beach Reads with Waterstones Kingston

Running low on summer reading material? Well, we have a few to add to your list.

Whether you’re looking for a new favourite fantasy novel, a little romance to soak in by the pool, or dark academia is more your thing, the fantastic staff at Waterstones Kingston have pulled out their hottest recommendations.

Get stuck into a new story and explore our beach reads below!

Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney

 

“Nobody does it like Sally Rooney! Friendship, romance, and the struggles of millennial life – this one has it all. If you enjoyed Conversations With Friends or Normal People you will love this novel!”

The Maidens by Alex Michaelides

 

“Dark academia at its finest! This deliciously sinister psychological thriller is all set within the walls of Cambridge University. It includes Greek mythology, a cult, and a plot twist that you won’t see coming… Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient and The Secret History.”

Slouching Towards Bethlehem by Joan Didion

“An oldie but a goodie. Great to dip in and out of and read bits at a time. This is an absolute favourite of ours here at Waterstones Kingston.”

She Who Became the Sun by Shelley Parker-Chan

 

“Beautifully written fantasy novel, inspired by myth and history, about a young peasant who defies her fate and becomes emperor of China. It’s action-packed, it’s queer, and it’s absolutely brilliant.”

Four Thousand Weeks by Oliver Burkeman

 

“The perfect beach read for fans of non-fiction. An entertaining, uplifting, and thought-provoking guide to getting the most out of life. We get four thousand weeks (on average) on this earth – use them wisely!”

Find Waterstones on the second floor.